Republic of Ireland Joins London Agreement

Skip navigation

As of December 2012, the Republic of Ireland has joined the London Agreement tier 1.

This means that granted European patents automatically become effective in the Republic of Ireland, without any official fees payable.

However, renewal fees still need to be paid annually up until expiry.

The set of core London Agreement countries, where granted European patents are automatically valid without the need to file translations is now as follows:

-       Switzerland (CH)

-       Germany (DE)

-       France (FR)

-       United Kingdom (GB)

-       Republic of Ireland (IE)

-       Liechtenstein (LI)

-       Luxembourg (LU)

-       Monaco (MC)

Article Published January 29, 2013