Thailand announced as 99th member of the Madrid System

Death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Find out more

Death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

The staff at Franks & Co were saddened to learn of the death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Our thoughts are with His Majesty King Charles III and the rest of the Royal Family.

The United Kingdom is now officially in a period of mourning until after the Queen’s state funeral which is to be held on Monday 19 September. Normal day-to-day business will continue throughout this period.

The UK government has declared the day of the funeral to be a national Bank Holiday, so the United Kingdom Intellectual Property Office will be closed on Monday 19 September.

The United Kingdom Intellectual Property Office’s official guidance on bank holidays is given below:

The office is deemed to be closed on weekends, Good Friday, Christmas Day and all England and Wales bank holidays for all types of business, except for the filing of new applications not claiming priority. If documents are filed for these types of business at times when the office is deemed to be closed, they will receive an official filing date of the next working day.

Any official time period which expires on a weekend or any other day on which the office is closed is extended to the next working day.

Skip navigation

With effect from November 07, 2017, Thailand ascends to become the 99th member of the Madrid System.

Thailand flag

The Madrid System provides a system for the international registration of trade marks in a single filing procedure. In one trade mark application, in a single language, it is possible for a trade mark applicant to obtain registration of their trade mark in up to 99 Madrid Union member states. An international trade mark registration designating multiple member states is often more costs effective and time efficient than multiple individual national trade mark applications.

The Madrid application must be based on an existing national application or registration in one of the contracting states or regions e.g. UK or the European Union. Once registered, each designated state registration follows the opposition procedure of that state or region in the same way as a national or regional trade mark application.

Once registered, the Madrid international trade mark registration is the equivalent of a national or regional trade mark registration in respect of each of the states or regions designated in the application. Essentially, the international filing becomes a collection of national trade mark rights.

The addition of Thailand to the Madrid Union means it is now possible to obtain and international trade mark registration for one or all of the following 99 Madrid Union member states:

  • African Intellectual Property Organisation 
  • Cuba 
  • Israel 
  • Namibia 
  • Spain
  • Albania 
  • Cyprus 
  • Italy 
  • Netherlands 
  • Sudan
  • Algeria 
  • Czech Republic 
  • Japan 
  • New Zealand 
  • Swaziland
  • Antigua & Barbuda 
  • Democratic People’s Republic of Korea 
  • Kazakhstan 
  • Norway 
  • Sweden
  • Armenia 
  • Denmark 
  • Kenya 
  • Oman 
  • Switzerland
  • Australia 
  • Egypt 
  • Kyrgyzstan 
  • Philippines 
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Austria 
  • Estonia 
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic 
  • Poland 
  • Tajikistan
  • Azerbaijan 
  • European Union 
  • Latvia 
  • Portugal 
  • Thailand
  • Bahrain 
  • Finland 
  • Lesotho 
  • Republic of Korea 
  • The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • Belarus 
  • France 
  • Liberia 
  • Republic of Moldova 
  • Tunisia
  • Belgium 
  • Gambia 
  • Liechtenstein 
  • Romania 
  • Turkey
  • Bhutan 
  • Georgia 
  • Lithuania 
  • Russian Federation Turkmenistan
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina 
  • Ghana 
  • Luxembourg 
  • Rwanda 
  • Ukraine
  • Botswana 
  • Greece 
  • Madagascar 
  • San Marino 
  • United Kingdom
  • Brunei 
  • Darussalam 
  • Hungary 
  • Mexico 
  • Sao Tome & Principe 
  • USA
  • Bulgaria 
  • Iceland 
  • Monaco 
  • Serbia 
  • Uzbekistan
  • Cambodia 
  • India 
  • Mongolia 
  • Sierra Leone 
  • Viet Nam
  • China 
  • Germany 
  • Montenegro 
  • Singapore 
  • Zambia
  • Columbia 
  • Iran 
  • Morocco 
  • Slovakia 
  • Zimbabwe
  • Croatia 
  • Ireland 
  • Mozambique 
  • Slovenia 
  • Available early 2018: Indonesia

If you require any further information on international trade mark registrations please do not hesitate to contact us direct at

Article written by Abigail Welford

Article Published November 1, 2017