Eurasian Patent Convention

Covid-19 Update

Find out more

Covid-19 Update

Please be reassured that Franks & Co Limited have taken contingency measures to ensure that the firm will continue to operate without any disruption in our services in view of the COVID-19 global pandemic.

Our attorneys and support staff are equipped to work remotely to handle matters reliably and with our usually precision and efficacy. All remote working will be conducted via virtual private networking to maintain client’s data security and confidentiality. Our normal operating hours will continue.

We extend our well wishes to all at these difficult times.

Skip navigation

The Eurasian Patent Convention provides for patent protection in the states which formerly made up the USSR. It provides a means for gaining protection in 11 member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Russian dolls

The Eurasian Patent Office is located in Moscow and the Convention is administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Persons from any United Nations state, bound by the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property and the PCT can apply for patent protection in all countries bound by the treaty by filing an Eurasian patent application in the Russian language. Alternatively, Eurasian patents can be applied for via the PCT route.

An Eurasian patent provides protection for a maximum term of 20 years from the filing date.

The following states are included in the Eurasian patent system.

(AZ) Azerbaijan
(AM) Armenia
(BY) Belarus
(GE) Georgia
(KZ) Kazakstan
(KG) The Kyrgyz Republic
(MD) Republic of Moldova
(RU) Russian Federation
(TJ) Republic of Tajikistan
(UA) Ukraine